Time is a Commodity

Time is a commodity that I have not been able to invest in lately. It may sound strange but I don’t remember being this busy with my first child. Of course, with my first I hadn’t been nearly as successful at breastfeeding and pumping (I do believe diet also has been playing a role). My husband’s last day of work is this Friday–his contract is up and I know I am stressed out about him getting a new job. I don’t make enough to support us.

So stressors aside, I haven’t been able to really meet the guidelines I set for myself. I am not able monitor my blood sugars after every meal or record every meal–I usually eat one big meal a day at lunch then snack during the afternoon and evening. Lunch is my first meal of the day even though I usually wake up at about 7AM–it isn’t good for me to be running around without eating or drinking anything for hours. I am usually up at night until 1-2AM. I haven’t been able to find time or get the help I need to prepare meals or food in advanced. Using the dehydrator to dry out some healthy snacks worked out great until I decided to cut my finger on the mandolin slicer–I am afraid of using it now.

So my life–my days, rather– have been spiraling down a drain and my weight is up to show for it. I am disappointed and angry and I don’t know what to do. I can’t give up, but I need a plan–a plan flexible enough to work in this no-time schedule I have. I don’t know what that plan is yet. I know that how I feel right now is not good and that it is due to a combination of things including stress, diet, and sleep. I am exhausted all the time. I am unmotivated. I crave carbohydrates and other sugary foods. And I am gaining weight. 😦 So things need to change because I can’t be doing this when I go back to work. I have two weeks to figure this out (I return to work in two weeks).

Because I am not busy enough, I am trying coconut oil for all sorts of things. I will be trying it out as a sunscreen this week–if it works I will be replacing my son’s sunscreen at daycare and have a spray bottle for home-use. I want to try to make my own deodorant with coconut oil and baking soda. And since I am happy with coconut oil as a moisturizer, I want to put it into a bottle instead of using storage containers. I have also been using coconut oil instead of lanolin.

So once things settle down a bit, I will likely be posting more too! To be honest, I posted from work a lot–during my lunch or breaks. In the meantime, you have to deal with somewhat random, disjointed, and possibly grammatically erroneous posts.

The most important thing is that I don’t give up with my weight loss goals.

5 responses to “Time is a Commodity

  1. Good luck! You can do it! Buy a new mandoline with a safety handle—and then actually USE the safety handle, unlike stupid me when I hacked off a chunk of my finger in a rush.

    • Thank you! We plan on buying and trying an electric mandolin slicer that keeps fingers away from the blade all together. But I have read in reviews that the electric ones have a tendency to get jammed. We’ll just have to see.

      The one I was using had a finger guard, but the darn thing was so awkward–it didn’t sit on the bowl evenly and the finger guard didn’t really hold the sweet potato I was slicing very well. So I consciously made the decision to not use the finger guard for a few slices. After a few slices, I got cut. I am healing though–at least I got out of doing dishes this past week! XP

  2. Oh, hang in there Amy! It IS hard juggling so much, and with work/money stress on top of it all. Try to get back on track, but go easy on yourself in the process. With two kids I find it hard to remember to eat well, too, it’s so easy to just eat what is fastest and that is usually not what is best. Good luck and take care!

    • Thank you, Dana! I know it will be a little easier once I get back to work–I usually ate breakfast at work! I think having some time to clear my head will help. I am also avoiding bringing some unhealthy foods into the house–focusing on fresh salad ingredients and fresh fruits since they are in season and they–like salads–are much lighter to eat!
      And I am glad to hear that I am not alone!

Leave a Reply

