What is Happening?

I thought I would be posting more frequently lately, but that isn’t the case. I am pregnant, everyone, and at 38 weeks and wrapping up work projects and dealing with a whole mess of some personal stuff. I haven’t had much time to more than read a few blog posts lately. But I know I should explain.

Pregnancy

I am 38 weeks this week! Next Monday–April 8th–I will be having my second child via cesarean delivery. I had to have an emergency cesarean with my first child and the hospital and my doctor can only provide cesarean as an option. Knowing that I would have my doctor and the same surgeon for this surgery has relieved some of my fears, but it’s still surgery and things can go wrong.

As I have explained from time to time before, this pregnancy isn’t like my first pregnancy at all. Even though I have kept my weight down and I am eating healthier, it is still a whole different beast. I am not sure if I could take another week of pregnancy at this point with how my body feels. But I know I have been doing a pretty good job of taking care of myself.

Weight

My weight did go up about four or five weeks ago. I gained back a couple pounds and then another crept back on. My doctor wasn’t too concerned, but I knew that I was eating more carbohydrates than I knew was good for me–not so much that it spiked my blood sugar so much as more throughout the day. I ate fewer vegetables and meat and eggs. I knew it wasn’t good for me or my diet.

The last few days my weight has been going down. I have been making smarter choices and eating fewer carbohydrates (still more than I think I should!). I am at 248lbs as of this morning and I hope that I can lose one more pound before Monday morning. I am not going to lie, getting back down to 246lbs would be awesome!

Stress!

I have been under a lot of stress lately, especially these past few weeks. And to be honest, I really think this stress has been causing me to crave (and then eat) more carbohydrates lately. I really hesitate to elaborate in this post about the source of my stress because the matter isn’t really resolved, more like shelved for the time being. A secondary stress factor (a mix of good and bad–but currently good) has also been causing some problems as well. Again, I will explain further in another post on stress, since it does affect weight loss and health.

new hair cut and style 2013-03

I did get my hair trimmed and styled last week, which was a nice treat.

Anyway, another post about stress coming soon–I hope. Assuming my second child doesn’t decide to make an early appearance.

2 responses to “What is Happening?

  1. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

