Food Numbers

I have been tracking my meals very closely for almost two weeks now and since I can calculate the nutritional information for a typical gluten-free day, I wanted to share these numbers with you.

I really have been liking a breakfast with some fatty meat, lately that has been breakfast sausage. I also like yogurt because I can eat it at my desk, and lately, I have been trying out the Brown Cow Farms Cream Top yogurt with fruit on the bottom. And since I like to add a little flare to my breakfast, I sprinkle 1.5 tsp of Udi’s Gluten-Free Granola on my yogurt. Delicious, filling, and it gets me through my morning!

For lunch my husband and I don’t always go out, but we are more likely to go out for lunch than dinner. Let’s say we went to Culver’s (a burger place, with better burgers than McD’s). I have learned to just get a double cheddar burger–since I am not a Celiac, I just take off the bun. I also get a side salad (removing the croutons) with French dressing (I ate too much Caesar dressing at one point). This is a surprisingly filling lunch for me–usually keeping me full until well into the evening.

But let’s say I want a snack in the afternoon. My go-to snack has been baby carrots.

And then dinner time. I often don’t eat much for dinner, but I don’t want to skimp. Let’s say I make myself a salad (as I often do for lunch and have leftovers for dinner). My salad lately has had romaine lettuce, roma tomatoes, my carnitas meat, and some cheese. I don’t put dressing on this salad because…well, I don’t want to! And to give the meal a few carbohydrates, I would eat a serving of frozen red raspberries (they are my favorite treat right now!).

For dessert, which I usually don’t need, but last week we made those gluten-free brownies. So let’s say I had one of them as a dessert.

The amount of Calories, fat, Carbohydrates, sugars, and protein I consumed for each thing I ate is below. For more than one serving, I calculated the amount for the amount I ate (example, 1 serving of carrots is 40 Cal  0g Fat  9g Carbs  5g Sugar  1g Protein, I calculated what 2 servings would be since that is what I ate).

Breakfast:

  • Jones Dairy Maple Sausage (1 2/3 servings: 400 Cal  36g Fat  ~3g Carbs  ~2g Sugar  12g Protein)
  • Brown Cow Farms 6oz Cream Top Blueberry Yogurt (180 Cal  6g Fat  28g Carbs  25g Sugar  5g Protein)
  • Udi’s Gluten-Free Granola – Vanilla (1.5 tsp: 17.5 Cal  0.75g Fat  2.6g Carbs  0.9g Sugar  0.5g Protein)

Meal total: 597.5 Cal  42.75g Fat  33.6g Carbs  27.9g Sugar  17.5g Protein

Lunch:

  • Double Cheddar Burger, bun-less (471 Cal  34g Fat  0g Carbs  0g Sugar  38g Protein)
  • Side Salad, no croutons (47 Cal  2g Fat  4g Carbs  0g Sugar  4g Protein)
  • Dressing (190 Cal  13g Fat  19g Carbs  18g Sugar  0g Protein)

Meal total: 708 Cal  49g Fat  23g Carbs  18g Sugar  42g Protein

Snack:

  • Carrots (2 servings: 80 Cal  0g Fat  18g Carbs  10g Sugar  2g Protein)

Dinner:

  • Salad(lettuce, tomato, shredded pork, and cheese: 193 Cal  10.5g Fat  10g Carbs  5g Sugar  15g Protein)
  • Red Raspberries, frozen (64 Cal  1g Fat  15g Carbs  5g Sugar  1g Protein)

Meal Total: 257 Cal  10.5g Fat  25g Carbs  10g Sugar  16g Protein

Dessert:

  • Brownie (150 Cal  2g Fat  24g Carbs  18g Sugar  1g Protein)

Day Total: 1792.5 Cal  104.25g Fat  123.6g Carbs  83.9g Sugar  78.5g Protein

Wow! Under 2000 Calories! I know strict-Paleo and low-carb/high-fat diets prefer seeing carbohydrates 50g or less daily, but for now, this makes me feel good and it is something I can stick to. And the funny thing is, these are the numbers when I take carbohydrates out of my diet in the form of bread and pasta–I can’t imagine (right now) how different these numbers would be if I had eaten more breads because there were times when a snack for me was eating some Ritz crackers or a big slice of buttered bread. I thought I could make it healthier by pairing it with an apple or other fruit, but that was just a carbohydrate overload! So even when I try to cut down the amount of carbohydrates, I still consume a good number of carbohydrates through my day.

I do want to add for those that are new or starting this way of eating, not to push yourself too hard to reduce the number of carbohydrates in your diet. It is okay to take it slow and reduce the number of carbohydrates a 100 – 200 a week until you find a good spot to maintain. For me that is between 100 and 150g of carbohydrates. I will probably want to try to be around 75 – 100g once I deliver, but it will depend on how I feel. And I always recommend that you track how much you eat in a meal!

Oh, and tomorrow I go visit the nutritionist again. I am a little curious to see what she thinks about how I have been eating and my blood sugar results. At least, I think she will be happy with how well I have been tracking everything.

Leave a Reply

