What am I Cooking Up This Weekend?

This week with visiting the nutritionist and starting the joy that is monitoring my blood sugars I haven’t had much time to cook (fortunately, I got ahead on blog posts!). But I have found several recipes that I am going to try this weekend that I am excited about!

Mark’s Crispy Carnitas – I was so excited to find this recipe earlier this week, I posted about it! But I am planning on making my own carnitas salads next week for lunches! I will also have to make my own salsa for the first time.

French Toast – Made with Paleo Bread! My husband loves french toast and I have been wanting french toast sticks so this these (I haven’t made the bread before either!) recipes will be fun to make this weekend.

Gluten-Free Samoas – I have been sorely tempted to order some Caramel Delights from some friends with daughters selling them. I have managed to go without for the past few years, but I really miss these cookies! I am so glad Real Sustenance posted this recipe for me to try this weekend! 😀

My WIP Strawberries and Cream – after another batch this week that got really close to being like ice cream but it wasn’t sweet enough at all! I tried making it without sugar and the taste just wasn’t what I wanted. I am going to be trying a ripe banana and some honey this weekend to sweeten up the whipped cream.

At the hospital where I had my appointments, the cafeteria, which has really good food, had a fruit and yogurt parfait that I want to replicate that is gluten free and healthier for a paleo or low-carb/high fat diet. Some of the ingredients I am going to try to find at my local grocery stores include: Stoneyfield Plain Whole Milk Yogurt, Udi’s Gluten Free Granola, crushed walnuts (so pricey!), and almond slivers. I will sweeten the yogurt with some honey, I think, and add some pureed frozen fruit (blueberries or strawberries) to it to make it a fruit yogurt.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Strawberry image © Nanuk | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

Parfait/yogurt and granola image © Raphotography | Stock Free Images &Dreamstime Stock Photos

Leave a Reply

