Glucose Tests

On Friday, I had my 26-week visit with my doctor and my 1-hour glucose test. If you’ve never experienced the joy of taking a 1-hour glucose test, well, you are missing out. Despite my sarcasm, it isn’t the worst thing in the world, but it isn’t a pleasant experience. Basically, you drink some sugary drink and an hour later–almost exactly, they take a blood sample. Simple. But for those of you who have taken such a test, I hope you will agree with me when I say the glucose drink you must drink inside 5 minutes tastes pretty bad. If you were to sip it over time, it might not be so bad, but you basically need to chug it. The aftertaste hits you and makes you want to drink a glass of water–but you can’t. You can’t drink any water or chew gum after you take this test, until they take your blood.

Blood tests are never fun for me. My veins are like Where’s Waldo for nurses, so they usually take the blood from the back of my hands, which is actually not as bad for me. But when you take blood from the much smaller veins in my hands, it takes much longer and sometimes, the nurse will have to suck the blood out with a syringe. Too much information? Sorry about that.

With my first pregnancy, I failed my 1-hour glucose test by a bit. The normal range is 70 – 139mg/dL and my result was 157mg/dL. This result means that I got to take the 3-hour version of this test.

It is still pretty simple. You go to the lab in the morning after fasting for 8-12 hours depending on the doctor. They do an initial blood test. Then they give you an even larger bottle of sugary drink to once again drink inside 5 minutes. Did I mention it has even more sugar than the 1-hour test? Again, you can’t drink water or chew gum or eat. You have your blood drawn again at 1 hour, 2 hours, and finally, 3 hours after drinking the sugary drink. While you wait–or while I waited, I got to experience a range of wonderful things from extreme nausea to nearly passing out. It was a long three hours.

But I passed all the blood tests from that particular glucose test, which means I did not have gestational diabetes.

On Friday, my result was 155mg/dL, so I will have to take the 3-hour glucose test again. I had hoped I wouldn’t have to take it again, especially since it cuts into my sick time from work. But unlike the first time around, I am not so afraid of the restrictive diet I will be on. A restrictive diet won’t be fun, but it won’t be as much of a challenge now that I have done it once before.

So I am facing Thursday with mixed feelings. At the very least, I am not looking forward to having my blood drawn over and over again. But in the meantime, I am going to try to continue to eat healthier and get back into healthier habits in case I need to start seeing someone for gestational diabetes. I want to limit my daily carbohydrates to 100-150g per day. I also want to be better about tracking all of the food I eat this week in my food journal to make calculations easier.

What goals are you working toward this week? Do you have your own experience with glucose tests or gestational diabetes?

Image © Jckca | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

2 responses to “Glucose Tests

  1. I HATE the glucose test… 🙂 This is my 4th pregnancy, so I just asked my doctor of I could just skip the test and prick my finger instead. Surprisingly, he said yes… yay!! (My last pregnancy I failed my 3 hour, but went on to have not even 1 symptom of actually having GD.) Anyway, good luck on the 3 hour!

Leave a Reply

